Chronological Study · Essay

When You’re Living with a Messed up Lot

IMG_5277This is probably going to be a short post because I’m (unfortunately) in a hurry to get several assignments done (it’s almost time for finals for the summer semester Yikes! I apologize if this is a little choppy)

Today’s reading was Genesis 19-21. And, Wow! these are messy chapters! These are real, gross, flawed, human chapters from Abraham’s life. You should read it if you haven’t in a while or if you never have. But, seriously, it’s soap opera messy.

A few things stand out to me. The first is how Lot gets drawn in to the culture of Sodom and Gomorrah. I feel like up until last Sunday when my pastor discussed this chapter I had always given him a really hard time. I mean, come on Lot! Your uncle is Abraham! You should know better than to go live in that place let alone become absorbed in it.

But, how often am I sucked in to things in the world/culture around me? How often do I start by looking at something from far off, and then I move just a little closer (and then a little closer and closer) until I find myself in the middle of it? It doesn’t even have to be something that’s a ‘big sin’ in the world’s eyes. It could even be something ‘small’ that becomes an idol in my life. Something to think about when I want to point fingers next time!

The next thing: Lot hesitated. God sent angels—heavenly messengers!—to say that He was going to destroy Sodom and Gomorrah, but Lot hesitated. I don’t know exactly what made him hesitate, but I’m guessing it was the fact that he was emotionally invested, he had probably acquired some wealth there, and maybe he doubted after his sons-in-law didn’t take him seriously. Whatever the reason, he hesitated to the point that these angels had to pull him by the arm and start to drag him out.

If I’m totally honest, I can identify with Lot at times. I think we all can, although that’s not something anyone wants to admit. The fact that sometimes I mistakenly take ‘comfortable’ over where a Holy God who knows what’s best for me is calling me makes me want to kick myself! (hopefully I’m not the only one) I’m clinging to the hope that I’ll learn to trust Him more and more as I continue to grow in this life!

Another thing that stood out to me as I was meditating over this passage today was that I am thankful for the Abrahams in my life who plead with the Lord on my behalf! I mean, Abraham still doesn’t have it together because he’s just a human as Lot, but I am impressed by the conversation Abraham has with God at the end of chapter 18. And, I pray that I have the boldness that Abraham has in pleading for God’s people and in praying and pleading for the lost.

So, I’ll close with these verses that came to mind:

 

Isaiah 53:5-6

But He was pierced because of our transgressions, crushed because of our iniquities; punishment for our peace was on Him, and we are healed by His wounds. We all went astray like sheep; we all have turned to our own way; and the Lord has punished Him for the iniquity of us all.

No one is perfect, and no one will ever be, but just like there was a savior for Lot, there is a Savior for us when we were lost in sin, and even now there can be forgiveness when we mess up.

 

Romans 6:1-2

What should we say then? Should we continue in sin so that grace may multiply? Absolutely not! How can we who died to sin still live in it?

Even though we are forgiven for every sin through Jesus’s blood, we should stay out of Sodom and Gomorrah! We cannot keep living in sin!

 

1 Corinthians 10: 13

No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to humanity. God is faithful, and He will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation He will also provide a way of escape so that you are able to bear it.

God will provide a way for us to bear temptation, but I don’t believe He wants us to face it on our own. We should seek Him in our times of weakness so that we can rest on His strength.

 

Hebrews 12:1-2

            Therefore, since we also have such a large cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin that so easily ensnares us. Let us run with endurance the race that lies before us, keeping our eyes on Jesus, the source and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that lay before Him endured a cross and despised the shame and has sat down at the right hand of God’s throne.

When we feel God calling us out of a situation like He was with Lot, and every single day when we wake up and open our eyes this should be our prayer.

 

Romans 12:2

            Do not be conformed to this age, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may discern what is the good, pleasing, and perfect will of God.

It’s so important to have this ‘renewing’ every day. God doesn’t want us just on Sundays. With that kind of faith we stand no chance against the world that is so insistent on conformity and weighs us down with sin.

 

Hopefully this finds you well on your Monday evening!

–Liz

Leave a Reply

